34 insightful thoughts

  1. Definitely a phishing attempt. Hotmail already deletes you account if you havent logged in for a specified number of days. They doesn’t need your info to know whether the account is active or not.

  2. woah, sure it’s important – it’s got three (!) exclamation marks in the subject, hurry up! πŸ˜‰

  3. That’s the WORST phishing attempt I’ve ever seen… at least, for anyone with a 4th grade education or higher that actually USES their brain. The grammar is atrocious.

    It is amazing that Hotmail lets those through, but it’s even more amazing that there are people stupid enough to fall for it.

  4. Definitely a scam. It looks legitimate from a far, but looking at it now, it’s definitely a scam.

    Hotmail will never ask for your username & password, as they have in it various databases.

    1. Are you sure. I mean, did you see how many exclamation marks was in the subject line? πŸ˜›

  5. I was shocked when I saw this. And then I read the comments and LOL. maaaannn Some people take it wayyy too seriously πŸ˜€

  6. I think that was the point. It’s a phishing scam that the Hotmail group should have caught.

  7. cool, does it even have a message ID at the end of the email?
    like: Message-Id: 20101216155206.F2ED.289733-62837(at)microsoft(dot)windowslive(dot)com

    you think the girl’s name in the picture is Silvia? πŸ˜‰

    1. It’s (poorly) spoofed.

      X-SID-PRA: Hotmail Team
      X-SID-Result: Pass
      X-AUTH-Result: PASS
      X-Message-Info: eW1r7T5OXW7KWGpKChvlHIN2LsbXNAsj9VoUBirZXKpsTuuu3cb6JpyGi1EaIs9gozhWtaxa5vmuqcJvIZb5lggNlxKm9umKVh10i2kAuUSXUKl5TSEtlg==
      Received: from snt0-omc3-s46.snt0.hotmail.com ([]) by snt0-hmmc2-f3.Snt0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.4675);
      Sat, 5 Feb 2011 04:26:35 -0800
      Received: from SNT125-W4 ([]) by snt0-omc3-s46.snt0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.4675);
      Sat, 5 Feb 2011 04:26:11 -0800
      Message-ID: [email protected]
      Reply-To: [email protected]

  8. Spamfilters by Hotmail are terrible and have always been terrible. The same with Viagra mail, how many times do those mails get through the filters. And after tons of mailing/commenting to Microsoft, the only reply they can come up is “Well, maybe some people do wish to receive email from viagra”. I guess all those geeks at Microsoft, but not the rest of the world.

    I’m not saying that Google is much better. Sure the above mail (gmail kind) is not on my list of received messages but i’m sure receiving lots of more spam with that account, and all in my inbox. I always thought that if you had such huge system like hotmail, that a spamfilter should be noticing spam very easily. But guess I was wrong πŸ™

    1. I got tons of junk Canadian HealthCare (Viagra) emails in hotmail but that was because I was using my Yahoo account connected to Hotmail.Apparently these do not come through hotmail’s spam filters.
      Then I set the Yahoo account to automatically forward my mail to hotmail .Since then I ‘ve yet to receive any junk mail.

  9. Jose, it seems this is targeting Asian teens. I can well see that my 13 year old daughter gets intimidated by this email and may find it real. The next step might not always be to talk to mom and dad about what to do next…

  10. There’s no way it can be legit

    The one I had to fill out required my credit card details.

    This ones just a cheap knockoff – don’t trust it

  11. I hope you didn’t reply to it – I showed this to one of my friends who’s worked at hotmail and he said that the hotmail team would never ask for your password! If you send back the information, you’re account will be in danger! Even though it definitely seems legitimate, you must always remember this!

    Hope this warning isn’t too late, so to reiterate: DON’T REPLY TO it!

Comments are closed.